Longboard for Learning

More
1 year 10 months ago #593 by Adam Eastman
Longboard for Learning was created by Adam Eastman
I'm still new to surfing. Picked it up since moving to Jax about a year ago. I'm about ready to buy my own board since I've been borrowing and renting for now. People keep giving me longboards because they say it's easier to learn that way. Can anyone attest to that? Should I stick with the longboard for a while longer, or move on to the shortboard?
The following user(s) said Thank You: Riley Davis

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 10 months ago #602 by Riley Davis
Replied by Riley Davis on topic Longboard for Learning
I learned on a longboard and still prefer it today because of their versatility. I can use it for paddle boarding and yoga. Plus, my dog can catch waves with me (she has a life jacket and lays flat). I'm sure you've heard that longboards are good for beginners because the larger surface area gives you more options for planting your feet so you are stable.

I'm a long time surfer and with any sport, most enthusiasts will have an opinion. Surfboards aren't cheap. Before you buy a board, give both styles a try. I have a short board too, and there's nothing like it from thrashing on sharp waves. I know several surfers who learned how to surf on a shortboard because that's what was available to them. You honestly might like it better.

I wish you tons of luck on your surfing adventures. It's a thrill ride.

More
1 year 10 months ago #604 by Adam Eastman
Replied by Adam Eastman on topic Longboard for Learning
Thanks, Riley! Sounds like you know your stuff. Too bad you're on the opposite coast or you might have gotten a student.